Skip to main content

Introduction - Patna Municipal Corporation (PMC)

The Patna Municipal Corporation or Patna Nagar Nigam, abbreviated PMC, is the civic body that governs Patna, the capital of Bihar in India. Patna Municipal Corporation consists of democratically elected members, is headed by a mayor and administers the city's infrastructure, public services and supplies. Members from the state's leading various political parties hold elected offices in the corporation.

Patna City 2nd largest city in Eastern India after Kolkata
Area 136 km2
Population 37,41,652 (Census 2011)
Literacy 70.68%
Location Latitude : 25.5941° N
Longitude : 85.1376°E
Municipality Established 2 November 1864

Patna Municipal Corporation is the local urban governing body of the city of Patna. The municipal corporation consists of democratically elected members, is headed by a mayor and administers the city's infrastructure and public services. This civic administrative body administers an area of 109.218 km2.

The city is divided into 75 administrative wards and has a population of 1.7 million as per 2011 Census. Each ward elects a councillor to the PMC. By means of the standing committees, the corporation undertakes urban planning and maintains roads, government-aided schools, hospitals, and municipal markets. As Patna's apex body, the corporation discharges its functions through the mayor-in-council, which comprises a mayor, a deputy mayor, and other elected members of the PMC. The functions of the PMC include water supply, drainage and sewerage, sanitation, solid waste management, street lighting, and building regulation. It also deals with issue of birth registration and death registration. Municipal Commissioner is the executive head of the corporation, who is assisted by a large number of officers, belonging to different departments in the corporation.

The Patna Municipal Corporation has six administrative circles each separately administered by one Executive Officer and managed by one City Manager:

  • New Capital Circle
  • Patliputra Circle
  • Kankarbagh Circle
  • Bankipur Circle
  • Azimabad Circle
  • Patna City Circle

The corporation also has engineering divisions for the execution of various infrastructure works each separately headed by one Executive Engineer:

  • New Capital Division
  • Patliputra Division
  • Kankarbagh Division
  • Bankipur Division
  • Azimabad Division
  • Patna City Division
  • Water Supply Division
  • Ganga Division