Skip to main content

History - Patna Municipal Corporation (PMC)

The Patna Municipality, established on 2 November 1864 was renamed Patna City Municipality in 1917. This as well as Patna Administrative Committee and the Patna-Bankipur Joint Water Works Committee were substituted by the Patna Municipal Corporation (PMC), which came into force on 15 August 1952 under the provision of the Patna Municipal Act, 1951. The first election of the PMC councillors were held in March 1954, but they came in office on 1 February 1955.

Patna City 2nd largest city in Eastern India after Kolkata
Type Local Authority
Founded 2 November 1864
1st election of the PMC councillors March 1954