Skip to main content

About - Patna Municipal Corporation (PMC)


The Patna Municipal Corporation or Patna Nagar Nigam, abbreviated PMC is the civic body that governs Patna, the capital of Bihar in India. Patna Municipal Corporation consists of democratically elected members, is headed by a mayor and administers the city's infrastructure, public services, and supplies.


The Patna Municipal Corporation was established on the 15th August 1952, in accordance with The Patna Municipal Corporation Act, 1951, which was published in the Bihar Gazettes Extraordinary No.249 the 30th July 1952, by the Govt. of Bihar in their Notification No. L.S.G. 1088/52 Leg-538 dated 26th July 1952. The Patna Municipal Corporation Act 1951 came into force on 15-08-1952 with the enforcement of Act, the former Patna City Municipality, the former Patna administrative committee and the former Patna Bankipur joint waterworks committee was replaced by The Patna Municipal Corporation on 15th Aug 1952. Thus, came into being a New Civic Body with the merger of the 88-year-Old Patna City Municipality and the 35-year-old Patna Administration Committee with more powers and responsibilities and the PMC was established with effect from 15th August 1952, by virtue of orders issued by Govt. in their notification No. 6613 dated 9th August 1952, published in the Bihar Gazettes Extraordinary No.95 the 11th August 1952. The first elections of the councilors were completed in March 1954, but they came in office on the 1st of February 1955.

Present Administrative Set Up

Patna Municipal Corporation is the local urban governing body of the city of Patna. The PMC consists of a Hon’ble Mayor, Deputy Mayor, 73 other Ward Councilors and administers the city’s infrastructure and public services. This civic administrative body administers an area of 108.87 km. The PMC functions through an Empowered Standing Committee which consists of 9 Hon’ble Ward Councilors including Hon'ble Mayor and Dy. Mayor. The members of the House of People and The State Legislative Assembly representing constituencies that fall wholly or partially under the Corporation area and the members of the Council of the State and the members of the State Legislative Council registered as electors within the Municipal Corporation area are also members of this Corporation. All the 75 wards of the Patna Municipal Corporation are under the executive control of six Circles.

Each Circle is administered by an Executive Officer and managed by one City Manager who is deputed by the State Government:

  1. New Capital Circle
  2. Patliputra Circle
  3. Kankarbagh Circle
  4. Bankipur Circle
  5. Azimabad Circle
  6. Patna City Circle

The corporation also has engineering divisions for the execution of various infrastructure works each separately headed by one Executive Engineer:

  1. New Capital Division
  2. Patliputra Division
  3. Kankarbagh Division
  4. Bankipur Division
  5. Azimabad Division
  6. Patna City Division
  7. Water Supply Division
  8. Ganga Division


The Patna Municipal Corporation is divided into 75 wards, which is managed through 6 circles:


Total no. of wards


New Capital Circle


3, 4, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 21, 28, 37

Patliputra Circle


1, 2, 5, 6, 7, 8, 20, 22, 22A, 22B, 22C, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27

Kankarbagh Circle


29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 35, 44, 45, 46, 55

Bankipur Circle


36, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 47, 48, 49, 50, 51

Azimabad Circle


52, 53, 54, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 63, 64, 65

Patna City Circle


62, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72

Each Circle also has an Asst. Health Officer to supervise sanitation works. Each ward has a Sanitary Inspector. The administration of the Corporation is under the direct control of the Municipal Commissioner who sits at the Apex Corporation Office located at Maurya Lok, Budha Marg, Patna. To Control, Monitor and Perform the functions of the Corporation, two Additional Municipal Commissioners, four Deputy Municipal Commissioner, Executive Officers, Health Officers, Asst. Health Officers, Revenue Officers, Chief Engineers, Chief Accounts Officer, Vigilance Officer, Secretary, Asst. Engineers etc. are also working. The present requirement is the creation of more Administrative Circles and further decentralization of Power and works to increase efficiency and also to take civic amenities being provided by the PMC to the doorstep of rent payers. The situation is expected to improve with the imminent computerization in the Head Quarter and all the Circle Offices.


The Patna Municipal Corporation headquarter has following departments for the functioning of various works assigned under the Bihar Municipal Act, 2007:

  • Establishment Section
  • Accounts Section
  • Revenue Section
  • Estate Section
  • Planning Section
  • Engineering Section
  • Urban Planning Section
  • Sanitation Section
  • Vigilance Section
  • Legal Section
  • Legislative Section
  • RTI Section/ Public Grievance Redressal Section
  • E-Governance Section
  • Enforcement Section